Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

james_pease
Helper III
Helper III

MinX and MaxX on a Measure while filtering for a Category

Hello everyone and thank you in Advance. I am still fairly new to DAX and starting to get the grasp of it. I am still having a problem trying to use the Min and Max commands (I tried MIN, MINA, MINX, etc) when applying the forumla on a measure. I believe I need to use MINX and MAXX since it refers to a measure. I might need to make these measure in the table I am referencing the measure too (I had to do this for RANKX to work) but Im honestly not sure as I have tried that as well. Here is my syntax:

Food Cost Max = IF([Cost %]>0, MAXX(FILTER(ChartOfAcounts, [Category] = "Food Cost"), All_Actual_Expenses[Cost %]))

For context, Cost % is a measure that divides Revenues by Expenses. We assigned Category Numbers to each expense and Revenue. The categories are outlined in a different table.

So basically I am trying to create Mins and Maxs for Food Cost, Labor cost, and Gross Cost to be able to set up an 'Outliers' Group to put into a different visual. The idea is for this visualization to consistly show outliers.

However, I cant get there unless I fix the Max and Min formulas. I am expecting to see the Min be 30.85% and the Max be 37.37% (I have circled these in the image below).

james_pease_1-1660696872750.png

Here are results with the above formula

james_pease_2-1660696990197.png

Again, thanks in advance!!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@james_pease 
Please try

Food Cost Max =
MAXX (
    CALCULATETABLE (
        VALUES ( ChartOfAcounts[Store_ID] ),
        'ChartOfAccounts'[Category] = "Food Cost"
    ),
    CALCULATE ( [Cost %], 'ChartOfAccounts'[Category] = "Food Cost" )
)

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
james_pease
Helper III
Helper III