Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

TomBLG
Helper I
Helper I

Measure based of a disconnected table and field name prefix

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to Power BI and was hoping to get some help figuring this roadblock out.

Currently my data consists of a dataframe with a YearWeek field which I'm using as my slicer and the rest of the columns are all float type.

Unfortunately due to privacy reasons I'm unable to share my data, however I made a replica .pbix with dummy data so hopefully that'll be enough. For the sake of this post, I named my fields [Meter1], [Meter2], [Meter3], etc. This is what the column names are like per Meter:

[Meter1] - Formula brought in from SQL

[Target.Meter1] - Same column name with "Target." prefixed. Not always available.

[MTD.Meter1] - Same column name with "MTD." prefixed.

[YTD.Meter1] - Same column name with "YTD." prefixed.

[Target.YTD.Meter1] - Same column name with "Target.YTD." prefixed.

Most of these fields are complex formulas calculated in SQL, so please don't see these "MTD" and "YTD" prefixes as opportunities to recalculate it in Power BI with TOTALMTD() and TOTALYTD() functions, rather see it as static naming that (hopefully) can be used to locate values.

Say I have 100 fields. I'd like to select a specific number of them, 4 for this example (real case would be 15-30), and have them populate in a table visualisation with a YearWeek slicer on top. The fields that go in this table should be set in stone and always displaying in a table.

Outcome representation of what I'm looking for:

TomBLG_0-1626088594413.png

I started by creating a disconnected table with the fields I'd like to track, a description and their units, however now I'm not sure how to link everything up together now.

TomBLG_2-1626088807815.png