Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

sdgiss
Helper I
Helper I

Maintaining filter context after applying ALL function

First off, let me state that I am very new to DAX. The question I have relates to maintaining filter context after applying the ALL function to create a new measure.

The new measure identifies the all-time (ALL dDates) best max speed for each bike racer. When reporting daily max speed on a specific date, there are records for those who did not record a value on that date (but did over the previous year). I realize this is probably a simple solution but I am struggling to have both the date filter context in the pivot table and the all-time best measure for only those racers that recorded a max speed on that specific date. I would only like to report an all-time best max speed for those that had a max speed record on a specific date. My pivot table is below with a specific example where Racer 9 & 10 have no data for 10/21 but still show up because they have an all-time max speed. The DAX formulae are as follows:

Max Speed All Dates = CALCULATE ( MAX ( fData[Max Speed] )FILTER ( ALL ( dDate ), dDate[Date] ) )

Max Speed per Racer =CALCULATE(MAX(fDataReference[Max Speed]),ALLEXCEPT(dRacerDetail,dRacerDetail[Racer]))

Thank you!

Steve

Max Speed.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
wdx223_Daniel
Super User
Super User

@sdgiss  just adding a if function in your measure

Max Speed All Dates = IF([Daily Max],CALCULATE ( MAX ( fData[Max Speed] ), FILTER ( ALL ( dDate ), dDate[Date] ) )))

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
CNENFRNL
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi, @amitchandak , @Anonymous , @wdx223_Daniel , a quick question please: can you guys shed some light on this expression?

FILTER ( ALL ( dDate ), dDate[Date] )