Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Lookup value if date is between two dates

Hi

I'm new to PowerBI and the DAX syntax.

I have 2 tables (Sprints and WorkItems). All date columns are formatted as Date

Sprints table: (columns StartDate, FinishDate and SprintNumber)

Table_Sprints.PNG

WorkItems table: (columns CreatedDate and CreatedInSprintNumber)
Table_WorkItems.png

I am trying to test if the CreatedDate from WorkItems falls within the date range (Start and Finish) in Sprints and then return the SprintNumber.

I searched for a solution and found this expression:
CreatedInSprint =
CALCULATE(
     SUM(Sprints[SprintNo]);
     FILTER(Sprints;
                 Sprints[attributes_startDate] <= WorkItems[fields_SystemCreatedDate] &&
                 Sprints[attributes_finishDate] >= WorkItems[fields_SystemCreatedDate]
      )
)
However, - as you can see it only returns some of the sprint numbers (the ones matching Finish date)

Can anyone see what I am doing wrong?
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

I don't think you've told us all about the model... I suspect there are relationships between the two tables based on the date fields.

Try this

CreatedInSprint =
var __date = WorkItems[fields_SystemCreatedDate]
return
	MAXX(
		FILTER(
			Sprints;
			AND(
		    	Sprints[attributes_startDate] <= __date,
		    	__date <= Sprints[attributes_finishDate]
		    )
		),
		Sprints[SprintNo]
	)

This should work correctly on the assumption that there is always at most one sprint returned by the logical condition in FILTER. If there happen to be many, then the maximum SprintNo will be returned.

Best

Darek

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13
ctedesco3307
Resolver II
Resolver II

I’m trying to create a formula to show the QBEstimate.Monthlyfee for the righg billing period