Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Lookup and sum with criteria

I am an absolute DAX beginner and am looking for a solution to the following problem:

In the following table there are companies, departments, date (monthly period) and a value.

Now I am looking for a way to create a DAX Querry which sums up all companies for a specific department (100 in the example).
This in the current year and in the last year. A date table is already created.

thebeginner1204_0-1664959891615.png

Questions:

Which is the best variant for this case?
Calculate(sum(Lookupvlaue... or Calculte(sum(filter....

Are there any examples for this case?

Thanks for help

6 REPLIES 6
Jihwan_Kim
Super User
Super User

Hi,

I am not sure about how your expected outcome looks like, but in case if you want to create a table visualization, please check the attached file and the below picture.

Jihwan_Kim_0-1664962782727.png

If this post helps, then please consider accepting it as the solution to help other members find it faster, and give a big thumbs up.

Go to My LinkedIn Page

@Jihwan_Kim thanks for the answer. the table would clearly be the easiest. but I need the values in a measure for other visuals and further calculations.

Hi,

Thank you for your feedback.

Please check the below picture and the attached pbix file.

I added a measure.

Jihwan_Kim_0-1664966738223.png

If this post helps, then please consider accepting it as the solution to help other members find it faster, and give a big thumbs up.

Go to My LinkedIn Page

Thank you very much for the file and the answer.
The aim is to have all values in 2 periods in different measures.

Measure 1: Sum of all companies in division 100 from January 2021 (last year/month dynamically using Date column).

thebeginner1204_1-1664967678217.png