Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

DStearn
Regular Visitor

Include rows where the date value is greater than the period end being reported

Hi, I am new to PowerBI and have been busy putting together a report to replace our current excel dashboard that reports Service Tickets.

My issue is that when we are ready to report, some of the tickets that were open at the reporting period end date have since closed, therefore I am not getting a true reflection of tickets that were open. For example...

TICKETCREATEDRESOLVED
SD-0114 Dec 2021 
SD-0215 Dec 202118 Dec 2021
SD-0316 Dec 202105 January 2022

Period Reporting End Date - 31 December 2021

Report run on - 15 January 2022

In the above example, as at 31/12/21, there are two tickets open that have not yet been resolved (SD-01 and SD-03). However if I create a measure to countblank on Resolved column, the answer returned is 1.

I am struggling to create a measure that counts all records where a ticket was open as at the reporting period end date of 31/12/21 and include those that have a resolved date after 31/12/2021.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Dean 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @joris 

That seems to have done the trick. At first, my results were not as expected, however, I change the <= to > and now getting the correct results.

Thanks you for this.

Dean

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
PaulOlding
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @DStearn 

@I'm going to suggest using the CALCULATE function to change the 'filter context' (ie the filters that apply to the calculation).

Before getting to that though - how do you know the reporting period?  A common way to do it is having a date table that's not connected to any other tables in the model and allowing the user to select a date.  This measure uses this method.