Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

JonasWesth
Frequent Visitor

Identify rows with duplicate values

I am new with Power BI and DAX, and hope the community can help with this specific issue. 

The purpose is to identify potential duplicate invoices, which are registrered under a different invoice number (eg. Inv123 scanned again as Inv 123 or Inv.123).

As this is part of a larger analysis, I would prefer it could be as a Column, rather than using Power Query. The "Vendor Number", "Posting Date" and "Amount", would all be the same. Does anyone have an idea on how to mark these rows with a "Yes", and all others with a "No", or something similar? 

Regards

Jonas

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Look:

Power Query - marking dups in a table.PNG

Here's the M code:

let
    Source = Invoices,

#"Merged Queries" = Table.NestedJoin(Source, {"Vendor", "Posting Date", "Amount"}, #"Invoices - Duplicate Invoice Marker", {"Vendor", "Posting Date", "Amount"}, "Invoices - Duplicate Invoice Marker", JoinKind.LeftOuter), #"Expanded Invoices - Duplicate Invoice Marker" = Table.ExpandTableColumn(#"Merged Queries", "Invoices - Duplicate Invoice Marker", {"Inv No"}, {"Inv No.1"}), #"Removed Columns" = Table.RemoveColumns(#"Expanded Invoices - Duplicate Invoice Marker",{"Inv No.1"}), #"Grouped Rows" = Table.Group(#"Removed Columns", {"Inv No", "Vendor", "Posting Date", "Amount"}, {{"Count", each Table.RowCount(_), type number}}), #"Added Custom" = Table.AddColumn(#"Grouped Rows", "Has Dups", each if [Count] > 1 then "Yes" else "No"), #"Removed Columns2" = Table.RemoveColumns(#"Added Custom",{"Count"}) in #"Removed Columns2"

Here are the table dependencies:

Power Query - table dependencies.PNG

Best

Darek

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable