Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

croberts21
Responsive Resident
Responsive Resident

How to sum columns (hours) in a matrix?

I'm still pretty new to PBI. I have Free PBI Desktop v2.100.1182 (64 bit free version Dec 2021) on Windows 10.

I have made a matrix which sums many types of paid hours for an employee. I need to make a calculated column to calculate "PossibleHours" on which I will base overtime. But not all payroll types (ptypes) are added up for overtime. Here's an image of what I have so far. 

croberts21_0-1650540123523.png

I need to add another column to the far right called "Possible hours" which sums up hours for each person payroll types 5007, 9, 5018, 1 and 6. So the formula should sum up these hours as we may add more payroll types in the future. I already have a date filter which looks at hours for one payroll week.

Is this even possible? I have done some internet searches but no one else's data looks like mine, and I have not found any hints on how to do this. 

Once I get "Possible Hours" working I will try to calculate Overtime on my own. 

A link to a zip file with a PBIX file and supporting Excel file is here: https://gilsongraphics-my.sharepoint.com/:u:/p/croberts/EcE6N9xyQfFItDLuzIDqMtoBxjAHXhjRkI_lBXkZk4Xe...

I made this measure:

PossHrsMeas = CALCULATE(SUM(EmpTime[Total Hours]),FILTER(EmpTime,(EmpTime[ptype]=1) && (EmpTime[ptype]=5007)))

It gets no errors but I am unable to drag it to a matrix. I don't think that's how a matrix works. The columns are already calculated to be the field Emptime[ptype] so I cannot drag anything else to the matrix.

Thank you!