Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Deez
Advocate I
Advocate I

How to setup a table with 3 calculated columns

Hi,

I'm new to Dax and PowerBI and need some help with something that might be easy for you experts.

I have:

1 - Data Source1 - Data Source

2 - Combine data into one table2 - Combine data into one table

What I need to achive is a  front end table visual with a dimension > ID and calculated columns for Source 1, Source 2 & STATUS.

It needs to be a front end table visual and not calculated in the query editor.

3 - Front End table with Calculated columns3 - Front End table with Calculated columns

The chalenge for me is the Dax query for "Source 1" & "Source 2".

For Source 1 to return the Name's (A,B,C...) where Source = 1
For Source 2 to return the Name's (A,B,C...) where Source = 2

And the STATUS i guess will be an If statement...

The aim here is to track the changes between the two sets of data.

Any Ideas?

3 REPLIES 3
parry2k
Super User
Super User

@Deez hey see attached solution. I did it with two methods.

1st method, combined soure 1 and source 2, removed all the column except Id and made it distinct, called this table Source. created relation on id from source (new table) wiht source 1 and source 2. added new column called Status in Source (new table)

2nd method, combined soure 1 and source 2, called this table SourceCombine. created 3 measures which you can check in attached file.

PS - Ignore other tables in the file, those were for some other use case.

Subscribe to the @PowerBIHowTo YT channel for an upcoming video on List and Record functions in Power Query!!

Learn Power BI and Fabric - subscribe to our YT channel - Click here: @PowerBIHowTo