Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

How to return either a single text variable or multiple text variable with the IF function in DAX

Hi, Can anyone help me with this, I am trying to return either a single text variable or multiple text variable within an IF function in DAX. This would be based on a variable IsManager = 1 will return multiple values, if IsManager = 0 then return single text variable.
I am still learning so not sure if I am going about this the right way.

The following code gives an error:  A table of multiple values was supplied where a single value was expected.

I have tried several combinations using brackets with no luck. I produced the following to simulate my code.

DEFINE
    VAR MyDepartment = { "Department1" }
    VAR DepartmentLvls = { "Department1", "Department2", "Department3" }
    VAR IsManager = "1"
    VAR GetDepartments =        { IF ( IsManager = "1", DepartmentLvls, MyDepartment ) }
EVALUATE
GetDepartments

7 REPLIES 7
Anonymous
Not applicable

Thank you @tamerj1 ,

That was what I was concerned with. My example is exactly that. I am using RLS and I need to determine if the UPN is a manager or not which is in a column against the user. If you are not a manager then the Department table is filtered through RLS with the users department. If you are a manager then the Department table is filtered through RLS with multiple departments which is a query on the department table. This is essentially what  I am trying to achieve.
This is the the table query I am using in RLS.

VAR DepartmentLvls =
CALCULATETABLE (
    DISTINCT ( VALUES ( DepartmentTable[Node] ) ),
    CONTAINSSTRING ( DepartmentTable[Node], { DepartmentLvls } )
)

Thank you kindly for your assistance.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Oops.. that code should be

CALCULATETABLE (