Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

chkstr
Frequent Visitor

How to implement hierarchy of slicers when 1 or more tables have inactive relationships.?

Hi
I'm new to PBI.  I was able to quickly whip-up  up a solution  prototype (PBI is awesome)  that does what I want but was based on two very broad flat files. Now I want to scale up the solution to support millions of rows.   So, I broke out my original  flat file model  into a star model with 14 DIM tables and   2 Fact tables   (with huge performance gains).  

The Problem -  After converting data model  to Star pattern several of the Dims are now 'stranded' with Inactive Relationships. I've looked into using UseRelationship or creating virtual tables.  I'm sure this must be an issue with every substantive model so I must be missing something really obvious. 

Use Case 

My reports involve what I think of as Slicer Hierarchies e.g. The typical  instuction to the end user is
     Step One -Select the Workflow Type You want to view (from Slicer 1,  Dim table 1 , which has active relationships) 
     Step Two - Select the Task Type you want to analyze.  (from Slicer 2, Dim table 2 1 , has inactive relationship betrween Slicer 1 and Slicer 2) 

I have provided dropbox links with images and sample pbix that highlight the issue.
  1.  Image: Model of Data Subset
  2.  Image:  Basic Visualization Highlighting Desired Result
  3. PBIX with Data Subset 

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/mkig5aqypl39576/AABCRCi6dE_kT_xc9b7h81vga?dl=0

thx  ( and sorry to bore with such a newbie question) 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
harshnathani
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @chkstr ,

Create a measure.

Also try to make your model in a Star Schema else you may end up in trouble with other measures.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-vTakVyIDUU

Mutual Measure =