Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

laurelning
Helper I
Helper I

How to create a new measure of % by group

Hi all,

I am new to DAX and I believe this is a very simple question to the experts here. I have a survey question that asks customer to respond why they frequent a certain store and they can check multiple reasons. I have two data sets, one having the customer IDs and the reason; the other data file having again customer IDs and the stores they visited.  If, for example, we have a total of 10 customers, among them, 8 check location... how to get the percentage based on a total of 10 customers? Please see below the excel table that I would like to create instead in power bi.

why.png

The sample data is here to download :

https://drive.google.com/open?id=19NYmpV0ulE_Hhla0pCZFFcpFB56mXmI7

Thanks in advance and your help is highly appreciated!

Laurel

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Here's the full and correct solution. The answer does not lie in DAX. It lies in the data model.

https://1drv.ms/u/s!ApyQEauTSLtOgYM53H8bs_VEwonrUA?e=1mhVYz

Best

D

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

Sure,

Measure = DIVIDE(COUNTROWS('Sheet1'),COUNTROWS(DISTINCT(ALL(Sheet2[Customer ID]))),0)

PBIX is attached. 

@ me in replies or I'll lose your thread!!!
Instead of a Kudo, please vote for this idea
Become an expert!: Enterprise DNA
External Tools: MSHGQM
YouTube Channel!: Microsoft Hates Greg
Latest book!:
Mastering Power BI 2nd Edition

DAX is easy, CALCULATE makes DAX hard...

@Greg_Deckler 

Thanks for helping out. I look forward to learning from your book. Maybe I haven't explained clear enough in the first post. The exact excel table I look for in power bi is :

why3excel.png

And the measure created gives me the following:

why2.png