Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

SamuelO
Frequent Visitor

How to create a measure that ranks from the sort order of a text column (NOT numerical column).

Hello PowerBI Community,

I am new to PowerBI and trying out a few things here and would like your support.

I created a column rank that ranks my weekly dates as seen below;

PowerBICommunity.png

The challenge that Iam facing however is that I have measures that I am using to calculate the week over week counts difference and since I created WeekSortRank as column, it does not change dynamically depending on the filter, as seen below;

PowerBICommunity2.png

As you can see above, when filters are applied, the week old ranks are still maintained because it was a column and not a measure, and in the end, WeekSortEnrollmentLastWeek also ends up skipping some of the previous WeekSortEnrollement which is ideally supposed to pick from.

Therefore, I would like to have the WeekSortRank to be created by a measure since this adjusts well with filters and I believe this will inturn solve the WeekSortEnollmentLastWeek.

Cuurent  code that I used to create the above columns

WeekSortRank = RANKX(allselected('Data Table'), 'Data Table'[weekly_dates],,ASC,Dense)

WeekSortEnrollment = calculate(COUNTROWS(VALUES('Data Table'[Email])), FILTER('Data Table'[WeekSortRank]=MAX('Data Table'[WeekSortRank])))

WeekSortEnrollmentLastWeek = CALCULATE([WeekSortEnrollment], FILTER(ALLSELECTED('Data Table'),
'Data Table'[WeekSortRank] = MAX('Data Table'[WeekSortRank])-1))

Can I create this column (WeekSortRank = RANKX(allselected('Data Table'), 'Data Table'[weekly_dates],,ASC,Dense)) as a mesure?

Thank you all?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-yalanwu-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi, @SamuelO ,

If you want to create a measure.