Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

helen_p
Frequent Visitor

How to calculate an average which will change based on slicer selection

Dear all

I am fairly new to power BI and am figuring it out as I go and was wondering if someone could offer some guidance...

I have a created a table similar to below

Week Commencing     Count Of Additions      Care Group    Clinician

01/01/2020                                  3                          A                   1

07/01/2020                                  6                          A                   1

14/01/2020                                  4                          A                   1

01/01/2020                                  9                          B                    2

07/01/2020                                  8                          B                    2

14/01/2020                                  7                          B                    2

01/01/2020                                  9                          A                    3

07/01/2020                                  8                          A                    3

14/01/2020                                  7                          A                    3

I created a measure in my table so that I can calculate the average 

CALCULATE(
AVERAGEX('waiting list_Aggregated',[Count Of WL Additions]),
ALLSELECTED('waiting list_Aggregated'))

I then applied 2 slicers to my report one for Care Group and another for clinician

My average measure only works at the most granular level (Clinician) and does not seem to calculate correctly for the Care Group column, which is the level of hierachy above clinician