Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

nalmeida
Regular Visitor

% Growth

Hi all, Im fairly new to Power BI and I need to know the % growth of my company.

Yesterday I came across one of BI's Elite videos (DAX for Power BI - Dynamic % Change - YouTube) where he shows you how to calculate % Change over various dates.

I followed the instructions correctly, measures are fain and all. But how can the third quarter of 2020 (2020 Trim 3) shows only a 1.47 % change when it when from 159.8mill (2020 Trim 2) to 394.7mill in the next quarter...

CIGqP1o

To give you some context, i'm trying to show % growth or decrease

3 REPLIES 3
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

@nalmeida , do you have date table? and have you used measures like these

QTD Sales = CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Sales Amount]),DATESQTD(('Date'[Date])))
Last QTD Sales = CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Sales Amount]),DATESQTD(dateadd('Date'[Date],-1,QUARTER)))

@amitchandak wrote:

@nalmeida, do you have date table? and have you used measures like these

QTD Sales = CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Sales Amount]),DATESQTD(('Date'[Date])))
Last QTD Sales = CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Sales Amount]),DATESQTD(dateadd('Date'[Date],-1,QUARTER)))

Hi!

Yes, I have a date table where it shows day, month, Q, and year. 

No, I used the same exact measures shown in the video: 

% Change =
VAR CurrentValue = [Total en medida]
VAR PreviousValue =
SWITCH(
TRUE(),
ISINSCOPE(Consolidado[Fecha de pedido].[Día]), CALCULATE([Total en medida], DATEADD(Consolidado[Fecha de pedido].[Date], -1, DAY)),
ISINSCOPE(Consolidado[Fecha de pedido].[Mes]), CALCULATE([Total en medida], PARALLELPERIOD(Consolidado[Fecha de pedido].[Date], -1, MONTH)),
ISINSCOPE(Consolidado[Fecha de pedido].[Trimestre]), CALCULATE([Total en medida], PARALLELPERIOD(Consolidado[Fecha de pedido].[Date], -1, QUARTER)),