Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Vibration85
Helper II
Helper II

Group table in terms of date column and specific value of another column

Hello all,

I have a problem which sounds so easy but as I'm a newbie I can't manage it and need your expertise to help me please:

As a sample you can have a look at the table below:

I need to remove all the rows which have not Main Category value on their date (in this example I should remove rows 9,10,11), The main category value here is the beginning point for my process per day and if it does not exist in a day, I should remove all the other records on that specific date or ignore them

Vibration85_0-1624802246548.png

could you please let me know how can I make a DAX code or M-query to fix it? as my data are thousands or millions, needs to have the fastest one.

Many thanks 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
DataInsights
Super User
Super User

@Vibration85,

Try this solution in Power Query.

1. Create table MainCategoryDates, consisting of distinct dates for "Main Category" rows.

let
    Source = OriginalTable,
    FilterRows = Table.SelectRows(Source, each ([Main column] = "Main Category")),
    RemoveColumns = Table.SelectColumns(FilterRows,{"Date"}),
    RemoveDuplicates = Table.Distinct(RemoveColumns)
in
    RemoveDuplicates

2. Merge table MainCategoryDates with the data table using an inner join on the Date column.

DataInsights_0-1624814002728.png

let
    Source = Table.NestedJoin(OriginalTable, {"Date"}, MainCategoryDates, {"Date"}, "MainCategoryDates", JoinKind.Inner),
    RemoveColumns = Table.RemoveColumns(Source,{"MainCategoryDates"})
in
    RemoveColumns

3. Result:

DataInsights_2-1624814042837.png

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

CNENFRNL