Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Vibration85
Helper II
Helper II

Group table in terms of date column and specific value of another column

Hello all,

I have a problem which sounds so easy but as I'm a newbie I can't manage it and need your expertise to help me please:

As a sample you can have a look at the table below:

I need to remove all the rows which have not Main Category value on their date (in this example I should remove rows 9,10,11), The main category value here is the beginning point for my process per day and if it does not exist in a day, I should remove all the other records on that specific date or ignore them

Vibration85_0-1624802246548.png

could you please let me know how can I make a DAX code or M-query to fix it? as my data are thousands or millions, needs to have the fastest one.

Many thanks 

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
DataInsights
Super User
Super User

@Vibration85,

Try this solution in Power Query.

1. Create table MainCategoryDates, consisting of distinct dates for "Main Category" rows.

let
    Source = OriginalTable,
    FilterRows = Table.SelectRows(Source, each ([Main column] = "Main Category")),
    RemoveColumns = Table.SelectColumns(FilterRows,{"Date"}),
    RemoveDuplicates = Table.Distinct(RemoveColumns)
in
    RemoveDuplicates

2. Merge table MainCategoryDates with the data table using an inner join on the Date column.

DataInsights_0-1624814002728.png

let
    Source = Table.NestedJoin(OriginalTable, {"Date"}, MainCategoryDates, {"Date"}, "MainCategoryDates", JoinKind.Inner),
    RemoveColumns = Table.RemoveColumns(Source,{"MainCategoryDates"})
in
    RemoveColumns

3. Result:

DataInsights_2-1624814042837.png

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!

Proud to be a Super User!

View solution in original post

CNENFRNL
Community Champion
Community Champion

let