Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

LHENRIQUESILVA
Regular Visitor

Group by and count - How to translate this from python

Hi everyone, im new to powerbi DAX and im with a problem to solve...

i have a table like this:

COD_EVENTDEVICE_IDCITYDATECAUSE

CAMPINAS01/02/2020ELECTRICAL DISCHARGE

CAMPINAS02/10/2020ANIMALS

SAO PAULO03/11/2020WIND
4009159SAO PAULO01/02/2021

ANIMALS

4013128SAO PAULO02/05/2021ELECTRICAL DISCHARGE
7892178CAMPINAS01/11/2019DEVICE FAIL
... .........

i need to count from a date(m/y), for example dez/2020,  the events in last 12 months, after this, i need groupby DEVICE, and show the quantity of events in devices that had more than one in last 12 months e the quantity of events in devices that had only one event in last 12 months.

An example of what i expect to get:

DATECITYRECURRENTUNIQUE
DEZ/2020CAMPINAS31
JAN/2020CAMPINAS32
FEV/2020CAMPINAS41

DEZ/2020

SAO PAULO23
JAN/2020SAO PAULO24
FEV/2020SAO PAULO15

Where RECURRENT calculates the number of events in devices that had more than one event in the last 12 months since the date described in DATE, for the city described in CITY. And UNIQUE calculate de amount of events in devices that had only 1 event in last 12 months for that city.

I make this work in python, and i did something like this:

city = events_df['CITY'].unique() #Extract all cities present in dataframe
tab_fin = pandas.DataFrame() #Create a df to append each iteration

for i in range(0,len(city)):

events_by_city = events_df[events_df['CITY'] == city[i]] 
    #Create a table inside the loop that contains only the events of a especific city

date_ini = pandas.to_datetime('2020-12-31') #first month of interest
    last_date = date.today().replace(day=1) - timedelta(days=1) #last month of interest