Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Marius

Get Value assigned to last entry each month

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Power BI and probably this is much easier than I make it. But I just can't get my brain to work through the problem.

I have a Table:

IDDateValue
101/01/2021$1000
201/01/2021$1100
301/01/2021$1500
402/01/2021$2800
502/01/2021$2500
615/02/2021$1500
715/02/2021$1400
818/02/2021$1700
927/02/2021$1000

Now I want to show in a Visual always the value for the last row of each day and in another for each month or both together in a matrix.

The list is sorted before the import. So the highest ID of each Day/Month is also automatically the last entry. Maybe this helps.

I tried taking the "MAX ID" and put it into a matrix. But then I don't know how to obtain the related value to this MAX ID.

As I said, probably it is very easy and I just can't see it.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
stevedep
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

Hi,

Its possible to do it like this:

LastVal = 
CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Value]), LASTNONBLANK(DimDate[Date].[Date], CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Value]))))

As seen here:

stevedep_0-1614920195628.png

File is attached.

Kind regards, Steve. 

View solution in original post

Thanks, did not worked out for me on first try. Something is adding up to much. But I need to serach for the error in my Data model I guess. For now, with the hind of using "lookupvalue" I was able to solve the problem very easily as well.

LookupTest = LOOKUPVALUE('FACT - Table'[Value],'FACT - Table'[Value ID], MAX('FACT - Table'[Value ID]))

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
stevedep
Memorable Member
Memorable Member

Hi,

Its possible to do it like this:

LastVal = 
CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Value]), LASTNONBLANK(DimDate[Date].[Date], CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Value]))))

As seen here: