Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

patrick_d
Regular Visitor

For each user, unique latest date occurence of any of a subset items -linked table,multiple criteria

Hi

I am new to PowerBI and despite trying out various approaches based on other threads (eg. @v-diye-msft , @PaulDBrown) , I have not managed to find a working solution to the following:

I need to identify staff who need to attend refresher training based on knowing the most recent date they have completed relevant training.

Relevant training is a subset of possible training ie. only 3 modules qualify - let's call them:
training_A_relevant
training_B_relevant
training_C_relevant

So the logic I am looking for is:
For each staff_name, what is the most recent date that any RELEVANT training session has been attended. (I can then use DATEDIFF to find the number of days between TODAY and that date, to identify who needs refresher training and show compliance dashboard).

Sample data is as follows:

StaffTable:
staff_name
Lee
Jane
Chen

TrainingTable:
staff_name  training_module             training_date
Lee              training_A_relevant         10 Oct 2018
Lee              training_B_relevant          30 Apr 2018
Lee              training_D_not_relevant   05 Jul 2019
Jane            training_C_relevant          11 Feb 2019
Jane            training_D_not_relevant  11 Nov 2019
Jane            training_A_relevant         10 Oct 2018
Chen           training_D_not_relevant  10 Oct 2018

The result I am after is to add two new columns to the StaffTable to provide:
1. LatestRelevantTrainingDate for each staff_name showing the most recent date any relevant training occured (this is the most important criteria) and
2. training_module  the name of the relevant training module done at that LatestRelevantTrainingDate.