Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Yin34
Frequent Visitor

Dynamically Pick Min Date based on slicer's selection

Hi friends, 

I am still new to Power BI, hope you guys can provide me some guidance. Here is my situation:

I would like to pick min date for each level of percentile (low, mid, and high) from each provider separately based on the condition that the percentage in PctAvailable column is greater than the corresponding percentage in slicer (on the leftside of the screenshot below). I created three columns, LowDate, MidDate, and HightDate to store the calculated min dates. Also, I added columns LowPCT, MidPCT, and HighPCT to show the selected percents from slicers for demenstration purposes. Using provider 403 as example, the LowDate is 10/13, MidDate is 12/20, and HighDate is also 12/20 based on the current selections. However, the min dates of each level don't change when different values are selected. It looks like the min dates are selected using the min percentage of each level, not dynamically update based on the selection. 

I created three tables containing the values of each slicer, called LowSelection, MidSelection, and HighSelection. 

Here are the formulas that I used for the calculation (using Low percentile calcs as example)

LowPCT= if(HASONEFILTER(LowSelection[Low]),LOOKUPVALUE(LowSelection[Low],LowSelection[Low],values(LowSelection[Low])))

LowDate=

CALCULATE(min('Table'[SlotDatetimeDTS]),FILTER('Table','Table'[ProviderID]=EARLIER('Table'[ProviderID])&&'Table'[PctAvailable]>[LowPCT]))
Please let me know which parts do I have fix or adjust? 
PowerBI Community_3.png

Thank you so much for your time!
2 REPLIES 2
Greg_Deckler
Super User
Super User

@Yin34 Correct, calculated columns are not dynamic based upon user input. You would need a measure like:

LowDate =