Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

gingerclaire
Helper III
Helper III

Dynamic date calculation i.e. rolling total for 12-24 months ago

Hi all you helpful people!

So I am trying to recreate an excel for someone (trying to convert everyone to PBI!!) which shows the following columns:

• Product name (easy)
  • last 12 months rolling (managed that)
  • *12 months BEFORE the last 12 months rolling (this is where i come unstuck!)
  • Last 3 months rolling (ok with that)
  • *Same 3 month period the year before (eeek help!)
  • Last month total (fine and dandy)
  • *Same month total last year (arghghghghghhg!)

Please could you help me wiht those in with a *? I am a relative noob to this so am still fumbling my way around DAX. I was hoping SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR might help, but i couldnt get that to work on a table that wasn't date based.

My tables are called:

• 'Sales' with the relevant field being [Value]
  • 'Date table' [Date] or 'Sales' [relative continuous month]

Hoping one of you can help me 🙂

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Hi @gingerclaire -

What we need to do is build a flexible FILTER statement to get only the dates we want, then apply that filter to the measure.  Have a try with this code (modify as necessary)

MyMeasureFiltered =
VAR __StartOffset = 12 //How many months back from current month?
VAR __EndOffset = 0 //use 0 for current month, otherwise how many months back from current month
VAR __StartDt = //goes back to the end of the month X+1 months ago,
                //then goes to the 1st of the following month
    EOMONTH ( TODAY (), -1 * ( __StartOffset + 1 ) ) + 1  
VAR __EndDt =
    EOMONTH ( TODAY (), -1 * __EndOffset )
RETURN
    CALCULATE (
        [MyMeasure],
        FILTER (
            ALL ( DateTab ),
            DateTab[Date] >= __StartDt