cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
padinator
Helper I
Helper I

Distribute subtotal of specific type on other rows

Hello, i am quite new to DAX Commands and PowerPivot but i am trying to achieve the following and am quite sure that this should be possible quite easy.

At the moment i have a classical pivot table of multiple levels which has the following hierarchy

BRAND => ITEM => COST DIMENSION

What i want to achieve is to dynamically calculate a Subtotal of any existing BRAND<=>ITEM combination which i am then using as a multiplier in order to distribute this subtotal on any existing row based on their particular percentage share.

In the table below i would need a measure which saves the Cost for Type = Storage and then distributes this amount on the corresponding rows above based on their percentage share.

This has to be done also for the following brand<=>item combinations as this is just illustrating the first group of many.

Hope i made myself clear. If not, please feel free to ask! Thanks a lot!

BRANDITEMCOST DIMCOST TYPECOST AMOUNTCOST %
011123XXGENERAL1010
011123XYGENERAL1010
011123YYGENERAL8080
011123-STORAGE1200

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Richard_100
Resolver I
Resolver I

Hello

I wasn't able to fully able to figure out your Brand/Item/Cost Dimension but my understanding is that this is a subtotal and apportion job.  My take below is a more general approach using a table I've built myself with just two levels for Brand and Product.  I've put in random values for Cost and I've made sure that the apportionment value Spread % adds up to 100% for each Brand/Product combination

In a basic Excel table the column "Goal" is achieved using a SUMIFS formula that adds the column based on the value of the row in that column:

SUMIFS([Cost], [Brand], [@Brand], [Product], [@Product])*[@[Spread %]]

Richard_100_0-1643883922979.png

In DAX, I achieved this in a calculated column using:

VAR _OuterBrand=Table1[Brand]