Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Defining a "Winner" from Election results over State and Year

Hello

I am new to power BI and a beginner with DAX. Apologies if this post is in the wrong location.

I have USA presidential election data from 1976 onwards. Each row shows the state, the year, the candidate, the party, and the amount of votes the candidate recieved.

E.g.

Alabama, 1984, Ronald Regan, Republican, 872849,

Alabama, 1984, Mondale Walter, Democrat, 551899

Alabama, 1984, Other candidates, Other, [sum of votes of Other Candidates]

I would now like to create a column (or measure..?) showing which party won in each State and in each year (answer for table above is Republican).

I suspect this isn't too difficult to do but my own shortcomings are letting me down!

Any help is greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
kriscoupe
Solution Supplier
Solution Supplier

Hi @Anonymous,

You can create a new measure like this

Winning Party = 
VAR MaxVotes = MAX('Table'[Number of Votes])
VAR TopCandidate =
CALCULATE(
    SELECTEDVALUE( 'Table'[Party] ),
    'Table'[Number of Votes] = MaxVotes
)
RETURN
IF(
    HASONEVALUE( 'Table'[State] ) && HASONEVALUE( 'Table'[Year] ),
    TopCandidate
)

Then build a matrix with State and Year on the Axis and you should have your winning party.

Let me know if this helps. If this solves your problem, please mark this answer as a solution and drop a kudos 😉.

Thanks

Kris

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
harshnathani
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @Anonymous ,

You may want to have a look at this in the Community gallery.

https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Data-Stories-Gallery/2016-Presidential-Election-Polls-Analysis/td-p/89664

The .pbix file is attached there too.

Regards,
Harsh Nathani