Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

PhilippeMuniesa
Resolver I
Resolver I

Dax measure for Benford Laws Analysis

Hello,

I'm new to PowerPivot and DAX, and I'm carting a solution to analyze a value table (accounting writings) and compare the distribution of the first digit of this table with the Benford distribution.

I also want to do this analysis from several axes (period, audit cycle, account number etc) via slicers.

I started, but I aim at creating several measures:

1 - The total of distribution according to the line context,

2 - and secondly, the calculation of the theoretical distribution benford, the previous measure multiplied by the Distribution Benford by digit.

I built a small excel table with the 3 base used, the relationships made and a sheet to understand what I want to get.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ayolw2oam3ff1kh/Benford.xlsx?dl=0 

If I can get help with this project, thank you in advance.

PS excuse my English (I'm French)

Philippe Muniesa

2 REPLIES 2
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

@PhilippeMuniesa , I checked the excel. Can you let me know the specific challenges you are facing?

Hello,

thank you for helping a French beginner alone ....

If you look at the tab "TCD_result"  you will see 2 columns outside the TCD, that I can't get the formula with DAX.

The first is the measurement that allows me to get the total of the FirsDigit$column, depending on the context of lines, this measure I lack to make the second measure which consists of multiplying the line context of the Distribution column by the measure mentioned above (see the Column D column).

I hope I've been clear, but I think it will be clearer if you download the excel file and if you look into powerpivot and the TCD sheet that exploits the data loaded into powerpivot.