Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

BLAWHEEM1
Helper I
Helper I

Dates!! Not quite sure how to describe this in one line ....but need help

Hi All

Am newish to Power Bi and Dax - all self taught at moment, although am working through videos and find these forums really helpful. 

I have a problem which I just cannot get my head round how to solve.....

I am working with school term dates.

Have a "helper" table which has start and end dates for each term and also a term report date (which is at some point during a term).  This also has a "Quarter" allocated to each term in appropriate order, ie Autumn, Spring, Summer.

Have set up a custom date table where I work out what week a date falls into within school year (term starts beginning September); and have defined a Term and Quarter calculated column based on lookup using helper table.  So far so good..

I am working with Attendance data which has a column with a statistical meaning of  present/absent for each day of each term.  I have Many to One relationship between Attendance and Date Table.

I need to be able to have a table visual which shows a term and count of absent, count of present, % Attendance for term selected from a slicer but also needs to show previous term's data.  

I hvae managed to create measures on Date table for:

• selected term (from slicer)
  • selected quarter (used in order to allow me to identify previous quarter)
  • selected term start date / end date / report date
  • previous term
  • pervious quarter
  • previous term start date / end date / report date

All work perfectly, I am happy to say

I then use these measures in Attendance table to do a count of absent / present and calculate % Attendance

• CountAbsent = calculate(sumx(Attendance,if(Attendance[Statistical meaning]="Absent",1,0)))