Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Acarrier
Frequent Visitor

Date table and DATESINPERIOD

Hi All,

I am new to power bi. I have a dataset for the production of one of our plants. Since the plant is temporarily down, we have no production records for a number of recent days. Each batch has a ProdDate field for the day it was produced, PrimeWgt for the quantity produced. This is my main fact table. 

I have tried to make visuals using last X months where X is a parameter that can be changed. 

PrimeWgt is the measure I want to use in this example. 

The following does not work with TODAY(). After troubleshooting, it works if I replace TODAY() by MAX(prodDate) or any date prior to the max date of my data. I want to show last X months of data regardless of slicers (for example product type, customer etc). So if my slicers make the data sparse and many days have no production, I still want data for the last X months starting back from today. 

RETURN CALCULATE(sum(V_FCE_STATS_BI[PrimeWgt]), DATESINPERIOD(V_FCE_STATS_BI[ProdDate], TODAY(), -LastXMonths[LastXMonths Value], MONTH))

Would this be a prime candidate for adding a date table (CALENDAR function) from let's say today and back to my ealiest data's?
I guess this would also allow me to show production as zero for days where we do not operate? If I put this calendar table's end in the future ( end of the current year) is this a typical way to simplify calculations such as projected monthly production for the currenty month?

Is this the typical way (best practice) to architect this data?
Comments and discussion on this would be appreciated.

Best wishes to all!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

// Calendar must be connected to ProdDate in the
// fact table and must be marked as the Date table
// in the model.

[PrimeWgt LXM] =