Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Cerwan
Helper I
Helper I

DAX measure help: Filter on division, split by subdivision and year

Greetings all. 🙂

I'm a rookie, when it comes to DAX and even though I'm taking both courses, reading the Definite Guide and practicing, I have a task, which unfortunately cannot wait for me to get proficient enough, to solve it on my own.

I have a data-model with one table in it (not my choice), with the following important columns:

Department, division, subdivision, unit, month & year of expense, supplier name, expense amount.

I need a measure to supply me with the Division Top20 suppliers based on expense amount (filterable by the month & year). 

The trick is, that I then need to divide each divisions Top20 suppliers onto the subdivisions and units of that division.

So for each division, I need to show how much of that Top20 spend, each of their subdivisions and units have.

I'm currently using a matrix with supplier, subdivision and unit as rows, and expense amount (and other amounts) as values. 
Then I have a slicer on division and a slicer on the month & year ("mmm yy").

I've filtered the matrix with the Top20 suppliers based on expense amount, and it seems to be working with the current row-configuration. (With suppliers on top and subdivision & unit as lowerlevel rows)... However, I need to have subdivisions as top-row and then the filter works on the subdivision-level, not the division level. Hence my need for a division-level measure. 

Note: I am using live-data, so I cannot use calculated columns (the options are grayed out for me). Everything has to be in a measure, unfortunately.