Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

DAX - Selected slicer/value and row in data column are same, then give a certain output

Hi all,

I'm very new to Dax and I'm building a model in PowerPivot (which I will use in PowerBi when finished).

I have a financial report where I'm converting multiple currencies to one reporting currency which is selected by a slicer. It is set up as in the following link:

https://www.kasperonbi.com/currency-conversion-in-dax-for-power-bi-and-ssas/

I have an Exchange Rate table set up. However for each day I am missing the currency rate where the "From currency" is the same as the "to currency" => So where my Exchange rate needs to be 1.

I thought of adding lines into my table but this would mean adding thousands of lines for multiple currencies on multiple dates.

I thought of creating a dax formula where I can say => If the row in the facts table (can be any currency) is the same the reported (selected with slicer) currency, then I want the amount in the row to be multiplied by 1. Otherwise I want the row to be multiplied by the actual exchange rate.  (see a pivot example below where the issue occurs when EUR to EUR is reported)

My current measures are like this :

TrnExchangeRate=MIN('Dim Exchange rates'[Exch. Rate])

This will get the lowest factor value from the fact table.

Now to calculate the sales per transaction I will use SUMX to achieve this:

TotalSales = =IF(HASONEVALUE(ReportCurrency[ReportCurrency]);SUMX('Fact PL Data';'Fact PL Data'[Amount in local currency]*[TrnExchangeRate]))

However if my currency in PL DATA is "EUR" for example, and my reporting currency is also "EUR", then I currently get a blank value. Because I never have 1 as an exchange rate in my table.