Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

siljewiehauge
Frequent Visitor

DAX Measure for Active Contracts based on a value

Hello! 

I'm new to Power BI so please ask if what I'm trying to do is not understandable. 

I have a table with Contracts and I've made a measure to show me the active contracts from day to day. This is the measure I've used, and it's working and gives med the active contracts from day to day. 

"CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(Contracts); FILTER(Contracts; Contracts[Start Date] <= LASTDATE('Date'[Date]) && [Column] >= FIRSTDATE('Date'[Date])))"

I've put this into a line diagram to show progress over time. 

These contracts are in different areas. The areas are listed in a Column inside the same table as Contracts. I've grouped them into 3 groups, and what I want to do, is to have one line in the diagram for each of the areas, in addition to the line that shows total active contracts. 

How can I create a measure based on those specific values? Is there a better way to do it? Do I add something to the measure I already have, based on that specific group?

Thank you in advance for the help!  

4 REPLIES 4

Hello Siljewiehauge,

You can change your measure to be like below:

Day to day = calculate(COUNTROWS(Contracts),filter(ALL(Contracts[Start Date]),Contracts[Start Date]<=MAX(Contracts[Start Date])))

So by adding the measure to values and dates to axis you will get below visual:
1.PNG

If you want to get line for each contract type; just add contract type to legend and you will get below chart
2.PNG

Hope thats answering your question 🙂

Please don't hesitate to ask if anything else.
Best wishes.

Hello, and thank you! I've already done that, with the measure that I have. And I have the Active Contracts in a line diagram, it's working.