Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

TBardien
Helper I
Helper I

DAX IF() not working as expected.

I am new to Power BI. I am trying to use the IF(<logical_test>,<value_if_true>[, <value_if_false>]) function.

This is my code:

var timeFromPending = DATEDIFF(RequestWorkflowHistory[Quote Pending Max], RequestWorkflowHistory[Quoted], MINUTE) / 60
var timeFromQuoting = DATEDIFF(RequestWorkflowHistory[Quoting], RequestWorkflowHistory[Quoted], MINUTE) / 60
var QuotingTime = IF(timeFromPending<0, timeFromQuoting, timeFromPending)
return QuotingTime

But I get a syntax error for "timeFromQuoting", error is: "unexpected expression 'timeFromQuoting'".

However, when I replace the variable for the <value_if_true> parameter, with a hardcoded value, the error seems to disappear.

example if I do something like this:

var timeFromPending = DATEDIFF(RequestWorkflowHistory[Quote Pending Max], RequestWorkflowHistory[Quoted], MINUTE) / 60
var timeFromQuoting = DATEDIFF(RequestWorkflowHistory[Quoting], RequestWorkflowHistory[Quoted], MINUTE) / 60
var QuotingTime = IF(timeFromPending<0,0, timeFromPending)
return QuotingTime

Can anyone tell me why this would be happenning?

PS. I also think this related to my previous post: DAX-IF-no-longer-working 

3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes i think it is the same solution from your other post.

In the first case you got the same problem that Power BI  thinks "0,timeFromQuoting" is one expression. In the second example you have timeFromPending<0,0  (international timeFromPending<0.0) and and only the true case timeFromPending (because the real true case 0 is in the inequality statement). 

So again try the second "," should work

var QuotingTime = IF(timeFromPending<0,, timeFromQuoting, timeFromPending)
return QuotingTime

Best regards

Bruening

View solution in original post