Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

TBardien
Helper I
Helper I

DAX IF() no longer working

I am new to Power BI. 

I am taking reports over from a previous employee in my company. I downloaded the .pbix file from app.powerbi.com for updating.

When I opened up a custom column to edit it I get errors in the IF() statement, though the report seems to be running and refreshing. The errors are "unexpected expression 'BLANK'" and "unexpected expression '_time'".

The code looks like this:

Spoiler
Time in Quoting (hours) =
var _time = DATEDIFF(RequestWorkflowHistory[Quoting], RequestWorkflowHistory[Quoted], MINUTE) / 60
return IF(_time < 0, BLANK(), _time)

However, when I click enter on the code (without changing any of the code) the report breaks and I get a DAX syntax error:

Spoiler
The syntax for 'BLANK' is incorrect. (DAX(var _time = DATEDIFF(RequestWorkflowHistory[Quoting], RequestWorkflowHistory[Quoted], MINUTE) / 60return IF(_time < 0. BLANK(), _time))).

Can anyone point me in the right direction as to why this is happenning?

Thank You

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Try a second "," in your code

var _time = DATEDIFF(RequestWorkflowHistory[Quoting], RequestWorkflowHistory[Quoted], MINUTE) / 60
return IF(_time < 0,, BLANK(), _time)

Power BI expect a number after your first , like 0,1 and waits  for the second statement of if.

Hope it's working for you

Bruening

View solution in original post

21 REPLIES 21
Anonymous
Not applicable

Try a second "," in your code

return IF(_time < 0,, BLANK(), _time)

Power BI expect a number after your first , like 0,1 and waits  for the second statement of if.

Hope it's working for you

Bruening
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi @Anonymous.