Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

hawkeyes12
Frequent Visitor

DAX IF Sum Statement

Hello,

I need help with creating a DAX Formula. I have four columns in my table called "Transactions":

1. Date

2. Fund ID

3. Frequency

4. Dividends

And I need to write a formula that does the following:

• If [Frequency]="M" then sum the [Dividends] Column for the last 30 days
  • If [Frequency]="Q" then sum the [Dividends] Column for the last 90 days
  • If [Frequency]="A" then sum the [Dividends] Column for the last 365 days

Could someone please help me with this? I am new to DAX and am lost on whether I should use the Calculate formula, IF formula, etc.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@hawkeyes12 , let your measures be:

1. DividendSum =  SUM(YourTable[Dividends])
  2. HighestDate = MAXX(ALL('Table'[end date 1]),'Table'[end date 1])
  3. MDividends = CALCULATE([DividendSum], FILTER(YourTable, YourTable[Frequency] = "M" && YourTable[Date] >= [HighestDate] -30))
  4. QDividends = CALCULATE([DividendSum], FILTER(YourTable, YourTable[Frequency] = "Q" && YourTable[Date] >= [HighestDate] -90))
  5. ADividends = CALCULATE([DividendSum], FILTER(YourTable, YourTable[Frequency] = "A" && YourTable[Date] >= [HighestDate] -365))
  6. DividendsUsed = SWITCH(TRUE(), YourTable[Frequency] = "M", [MDividends], YourTable[Frequency] = "Q", QDividends, YourTable[Dividends] = "A", ADividends)

If this solves the problem, kindly mark my response as a solution.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
ahmedoye
Resolver III
Resolver III

Hi @hawkeyes12 , I like to break down my DAX into pieces to make it easier to write, read and understand. This is what you should write, assuming the dates start counting from today:

2. MDividends = CALCULATE([DividendSum], FILTER(YourTable, YourTable[Frequency] = "M" && YourTable[Date] >= TODAY() -30))