Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

hawkeyes12
Frequent Visitor

DAX IF Sum Statement

Hello,

I need help with creating a DAX Formula. I have four columns in my table called "Transactions":

1. Date

2. Fund ID

3. Frequency

4. Dividends

And I need to write a formula that does the following:

• If [Frequency]="M" then sum the [Dividends] Column for the last 30 days
  • If [Frequency]="Q" then sum the [Dividends] Column for the last 90 days
  • If [Frequency]="A" then sum the [Dividends] Column for the last 365 days

Could someone please help me with this? I am new to DAX and am lost on whether I should use the Calculate formula, IF formula, etc.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@hawkeyes12 , let your measures be:

1. DividendSum =  SUM(YourTable[Dividends])
  2. HighestDate = MAXX(ALL('Table'[end date 1]),'Table'[end date 1])
  3. MDividends = CALCULATE([DividendSum], FILTER(YourTable, YourTable[Frequency] = "M" && YourTable[Date] >= [HighestDate] -30))
  4. QDividends = CALCULATE([DividendSum], FILTER(YourTable, YourTable[Frequency] = "Q" && YourTable[Date] >= [HighestDate] -90))
  5. ADividends = CALCULATE([DividendSum], FILTER(YourTable, YourTable[Frequency] = "A" && YourTable[Date] >= [HighestDate] -365))
  6. DividendsUsed = SWITCH(TRUE(), YourTable[Frequency] = "M", [MDividends], YourTable[Frequency] = "Q", QDividends, YourTable[Dividends] = "A", ADividends)

If this solves the problem, kindly mark my response as a solution.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
ahmedoye
Resolver III
Resolver III

Hi @hawkeyes12 , I like to break down my DAX into pieces to make it easier to write, read and understand. This is what you should write, assuming the dates start counting from today: