Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Merc100
Frequent Visitor

DAX Equivalent for Excel SUMIFS Where Lookup Field Contains Partial Text from Another Field

Morning all,

I am relatively new to DAX and have scoured the forums but not found anything that quite works yet.

I am trying to sum each record where the Member No is contained within the Hierarchy string e.g. the first Member No occurs in rows 1, 10 and 12 and sums to 23, whereas the 3rd Member No only appears in Hierarchy row 3 so sums to 3.

The excel formula is: SUMIFS([Amount],[Hierarchy],"*"&[Member No]&"*")

I tried adding "ab" to rows 5 & 9 as part of the attempt using the following formula to see if I could get close and then apply the "Like/contains" bit of logic but no luck: CALCULATE(SUM(Table1[Amount]),FILTER(Table1,FIND("ab",Table1[Hierarchy],,0)<>0))

I have also tried CALCULATE(SUM(Table1[Amount]),FILTER(Table1,Table1[Member No]=EARLIER(Table1[Member No]))) as a start, also with the idea of getting close and then adding the Hierarchy element, also with no luck.

Any help would be hugely appreciated! Hopefully the description is understandable. Thank you in advance.

Capture.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Merc100
Frequent Visitor

Thanks everyone for your assistance with this - I received a response on another post which does exactly what I need, which I have shown below

Column =
SUMX (
FILTER (
ALL ( 'Table' ),
PATHCONTAINS ( 'Table'[Hierarchy], EARLIER ( 'Table'[Member No] ) )
),
'Table'[Amount]
)

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
Merc100
Frequent Visitor

Thanks everyone for your assistance with this - I received a response on another post which does exactly what I need, which I have shown below

Column =
SUMX (
FILTER (
ALL ( 'Table' ),
PATHCONTAINS ( 'Table'[Hierarchy], EARLIER ( 'Table'[Member No] ) )
),