Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Deevo_
Resolver I
Resolver I

Currency Symbol not displaying in Card visual with SWITCH statement

I am new to DAX and I have tried to implement solutions on this community forums into my switch statement, but I am not sure where I am going wrong? I believe I must use the FORMAT command, but unsure how to structure this into my switch statement.

Below is my selector measure and switch measure that I have created as measures. This "Selector measure" is used as a toggle between the different metrics ($ and FTE). The "Switch Measure" works fine when used in a table/matrix.

Many thanks in advance!

Problem:
Everytime i switch to the Currency metric, the Symbol does not display as a prefix to the numbers. Can you please help me modify my measures to allow the Currency symbol to display when only the $ metric is selected, and for FTE is just default to no prefix?

Other Measures used within the Switch measure:
  • [Costing ($)] =  SUM(Totalcostperproject)
  • [Costing (FTE)] = SUM(TotalFTEperperson)
Selector Measure:  
Selector = UNION(ROW("Type","Hrs."),ROW("Type","Wks."),ROW("Type","FTE"), Row("Type","$."))
Switch Measure:
Cost Selection = var selectitem=IF(HASONEVALUE(Selector[Type]),VALUES(Selector[Type]),BLANK())
return
SWITCH(selectitem,
"$"[Costing ($)],
"FTE"[Costing (FTE)],
BLANK())
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi amitchandak, I could not achieve the result I was after in DAX. So instead I used Bookmarks to create two separate versions of the cards, one with the $ measure, and one for the whole number measure. Then added a toggle button to switch between the two bookmarks. Not ideal, but it works for now.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Deevo_
Resolver I
Resolver I

Hi amitchandak,