Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Creating an Aggregated table and filter top and bottom 10

Hi All,

I am new to Power BI, so I am sorry if I am asking some basic questions:

I have a table with the following columns:

Key1    Key2   Key3   Dimension1   Dimension2   Dimension3

I want to create an aggregated table based on Key1 and Key2 and then find Top/Bottom 10 based on SUM(Dimension1) column.
Is there a way I can do this in one Summarize statement?

3 REPLIES 3
Anonymous
Not applicable

TopAndBottom =
var __table =
	ADDCOLUMNS(
		SUMMARIZE(
			T,
			T[Key1],
			T[Key2]
		),
		"SumOfDim1", CALCULATE( SUM( T[Dimension1] ) )
	)
var __top =
	TOPN(  
		__table,
		[SumOfDim1],
		DESC
	)
var __bottom =
	TOPN(  
		__table,
		[SumOfDim1],
		ASC
	)
var __union =
	DISTINCT(
		Union(
			__top,
			__bottom
		)
	)
return
	__union

Best

Darek

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Darek,

Thanks for the solution!

I tried your approach for my problem but I am ending up with issues related to % calculation in DAX Quer-2. For some reason, it is bringing up all the SEND_TO customers. Also, I coudn't find a way to combine the logic from Query-1 and Query-2.

Please note:
I manually checked the data and values in __final_summarized_table1 are accurate.

DAX Query-1:

__Intermediate_table = 
Var __summarized_table1 =
    ADDCOLUMNS(summarize(EDI_TRANS_BY_CUST, EDI_TRANS_BY_CUST[SEND_TO]), "Avg Transmission", calculate(SUM(EDI_TRANS_BY_CUST[COUNT])/DISTINCTCOUNT(EDI_TRANS_BY_CUST[YR_WK_NBR])))

Var __summarized_table2 = 
    ADDCOLUMNS(SUMMARIZE(EDI_SMRY_LAST_WEEK, EDI_SMRY_LAST_WEEK[SEND_TO]), "Sum of Lst Wk Transmission", CALCULATE(SUM(EDI_SMRY_LAST_WEEK[COUNT])))

Var __merge_summarized_table =
    UNION(