Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Maciek_
Frequent Visitor

Creating a measure based on week numbers as string - no actual dates provided in database

Hi,

I am fairly new to PowerBI and got stuck on the following issue.

I wanted to apply conditional formatting on the values in my matrix (year --> week number hierarchy in columns and project names in rows) if value for certain week is different than value for previous week.

The thing is that I do not have actual dates for that but I am operating on week number extracted from the string with format "YYYY WW" --> this column is split to extract year and week number in separate columns. This format is unchangeable as this is source formatting.

Also, in this case I am not able to edit anything in Query Editor so this would probably have to be solved with measure and conditional formatting on values based on such measure.

Below is a data sample - values that should be formatted are marked yellow.

Maciek__0-1599467462678.png

I tried to apply the following measure but it seems to be way off and would include only last week anyway.

Difference = CALCULATE(SUM(‘Values column’),FILTER(‘Table containing Week no column’,’Week no column’=WEEKNUM(TODAY(),2)),FILTER(‘Table containing Year column’,'Year column’=YEAR(TODAY()))) – CALCULATE(SUM(‘Values column’),FILTER(‘Table containing Week no column’,’Week no column’=WEEKNUM(TODAY(),2)-1),FILTER(‘Table containing Year column’,'Year column’=YEAR(TODAY())))

I would appreciate any help on that and of course will provide more details when necessary.

Thank you,

Maciek

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Maciek_
Frequent Visitor

Hi,

Thank you for your suggestions. 
Looks like I have managed to figure out correct measure for this issue.