Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Count items in COLUMN 1, filtered by COLUMN 2, grouped by COLUMN 3 ?

Good day,

I’m brand new to Power BI and working on some reports. I’m wondering if someone can advise how to best work out (I assume via a measure) how many unique ID’s exist for a particular DisplayName, filtered on ClassName. In basic terms, using this example table, I want to know how many IDs exist for each specific Organisation. Or in other words, how do I count items in the FIRST COLUMN, filtered on THE SECOND COLUMN and grouped by the THIRD COLUMN?

The results – based on this example – should be:

Company 1 = 4

Company 2 = 2

Company 3 = 2

I am certain it is not too difficult, and I could do this calculation using SQL, but I’m just trying to wrap my head around Power BI and how calculations work there.

Untitled.png

3 REPLIES 3
ibarrau
Super User
Super User

Hi there. You can just add the column you want to count values in a table visualization and the value to count as a summarization option with downarrow as "distinct count". You can also create a measure like DISTINCTCOUNT(Table[Column]). Then create a visualization with the measure and the category you want to count.

Regards,

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

Happy to help!

LaDataWeb Blog

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi.