Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

frittle
Helper II
Helper II

Count function issue in DAX

Dear Power Bi Community,

I'm rather new to Power Bi and facing a counting issue I can't quite explain to myself. Background: I am doing a buffer fill level analysis over time and want to find out in what percentage ranges based off of a buffers maximum capacity it is mainly in. I created a switch function that tells me if its fill level is <20%, 20-40%, 40-60%, 60-80% or >80%. I also have a large data set, so I created a measure that gives me the value closest to every 20 minute timestamp in 24 hours (if there is no value found it takes the last one), this measure is called "Last Value Final 20 Minute Stamp". This is important so that I have 72 data points every day. This is the dashboard I created, it counts the amount of occurances of each switch fucntion outcome as you can see using 5 countrows measures: 

frittle_0-1650799461599.png

Count rows measure example: 

<20 Count = COUNTROWS(FILTER(VALUES('20 min timestamp'[20 Min timestamps]),[Puffer Füllstand test] = "<20%"))

This works perfectly if I have one day selected only, if I do a multiple select for several days it only gives out the count for the last selected day and not every day's count added up: 

frittle_1-1650799680926.png

Is there anything I can change in my measures to get the desired result? I think my problem has something to do with the list of 72 values I am basing my count on.

here are my tables and connections:

frittle_2-1650799861033.png

frittle_4-1650800066201.png

frittle_3-1650800017727.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
OwenAuger
Super User
Super User

Hi there,

I think the immediate issue is that the measure needs to iterate over combinations of date & timestamp, rather than just timestamp.