Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Hanshans
Helper I
Helper I

Count based on Due Dates in Previous Month

Hi 

I'm new to DAX and struggling with something that I imagine is very simple

I have two tables of relevance in my model. One is a Calendar/Dates Table and One is a table that pulls in a list of off SharePoint. Each entry on the list in SharePoint records a product defect and contains a due date for resolution. I need to write a DAX measure to count how many defects were due to be resolved last month (and other similar measures based on different time spans such as last quarter, next quarter.)

I'm going round in circles even though have read around and tried all sorts of things. Thanks for help in advance

Hannah

10 REPLIES 10
speedramps
Super User
Super User

Hi Hanshans

Please consider this solution ….

Create a FactDefects table with

DefectID
                Status   = Open  or Closed

Product ID
                Date raised

Date due

Date closed

Create DimDate table with

Date

Month Offset   ( with 0 for this month, -1 for last month and -2, for month before, etc)

Quarter Offset ( with 0 for this quarter, -1 for last quarter and -2, for quarter before, etc)
                         (see goodle for how to create Power Bi calendar date tables)

Create inactive date relationships

Create measures:-

Defects due = 
CALCULATE(

COUNTROWS(FactDefects),
FactDefects[Status] = “Open”,
USERELATIONSHIP(' DimDate '[Date], FactDefects [Due Date])
)

Defects due last month = CALCULATE([Defects due],'Calendar'[Month Offset]=-1)

Defects due last quarter = CALCULATE([Defects due],'Calendar'[Quarter Offset]=-1)

Hope that helps.

Thanks Speedramps