Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Convert Earlier function in DAX to Power Query (Reverse Cumulative)

Hello,

Apologies in advance but I cannot seem to find a solution to this question.

Basically, I wrote a DAX query that works perfectly, but i realised a Power query will be better because I need Power's pivot functionality for some required post analysis. I just started learning DAX and have no idea how to write power queries.

For the query, I created two variables _department & _project and execute the following:

CALCULATE(COUNTROWS('Table'),FILTER('Table',__department='Table'[department]),FILTER('Table',__project='Table'[Project type]),FILTER('Table','Table'[date]>=EARLIER('Table'[date]))
The query filters the table by department and project, then does a reverse cummulative count on the filtered results, grouped by dates. 

Any idea would be a good starting point for me.
Thanks 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous , here's the M code for your reference,

let
    Source = Table.FromRows(Json.Document(Binary.Decompress(Binary.FromText("i45WcjQ0NFTSUfIozU3MUwhKLc4vLUpOLQaKGBkYGeoaAJGxUqwONdWZIKtzy8xLzEtOxWkOFnlTCuVNyHEnHnWm5IQPIXfROlzoEI8Q+5yMiDOHsDpjctThDGfc8qYE5IHmxwIA", BinaryEncoding.Base64), Compression.Deflate)), let _t = ((type nullable text) meta [Serialized.Text = true]) in type table [Project = _t, Department = _t, Date = _t]),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(Source,{{"Project", type text}, {"Department", type text}, {"Date", type date}}),
    #"Grouped Rows" = Table.Group(#"Changed Type", {"Date", "Project", "Department"}, {{"Count", each Table.RowCount(_), Int64.Type}}),