Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

pmazz63
Regular Visitor

Chart showing totals by quarters and months of current quarter

Hi all,

I am new to Power BI and trying to figure out how to achieve this; I spent several hours on failed attempts and also searching posts with similar challenges but could not find anything applicable to my requirements.

I need a chart (based on data produced every month) to show totals by past quarters and also by any month for the current (not completed) quarter. I have a date table and managed to group current quarters (months outside these groups are ungrouped) but the chart can only be sorted either alphabetically or by ascending/descending number, not chronologically:

pmazz63_0-1598971377007.png

I think this is because the group with grouped quarters (Q1 and Q2) and ungrouped months (July and August) is seen as text, and I can't figure out how to concatenate the quarters and months to show chronologically.

This is my date table structure:

pmazz63_1-1598971559452.png

pmazz63_2-1598971589838.png

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

For such a setting you have to create a separate static table with the pieces of time you need (just the names), have a column in there that would order them according to your liking and then have a separate measure that would respect selections in such a table. The table would be disconnected and you'd calculate the measure's values via virtual relationships. Basically, you can create any disconnected table you want with any attributes/fields and any hierarchies and then create measures that will work in conjunction with this table and the fact table even without any relationships between them.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Anonymous
Not applicable