Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

nigel_s
Frequent Visitor

Calculate daily budget from monthly budget

Hello,

I have a budget that is monthly and I want to convert that into daily values, simple in SQL but I'm new to DAX.

The ContractBudget table is imported from SQL

ContractBudget.png

The DateDax is a date table generated by DAX. I currently have no relationship between the tables. In SQL I'd join ContractBudget.Date=DateDax.FirstDayOfMonth to get a budget value for every day of the month but PowerBI says that's a many to many, and there be grumpy dragons ahead.

How do I get a budget value for each day where I divide DecimalBudget by Days In Month to arrive at my daily value?

I'd do a merge in Power Query but calculated tables don't show up there. Is that correct?

DateDax.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
nigel_s
Frequent Visitor

I did the join in SQL, much easier than messing around with this in DAX.

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
nigel_s
Frequent Visitor

I did the join in SQL, much easier than messing around with this in DAX.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi Nigel,

I have basically the same problem as you, and DAX syntax seems very complicated. Can you share your SQL solution?

Regards,

//Peter

Hi Peter,

The simplest way is to have a Date table in SQL, just like you'd generate with DAX. You can cover 100 years with ~30K records. This table has at minimum the following columns Date, FirstDayOfMonth, DaysInMonth. You need a budget table with entries for the first of each month. 

Date        FirstOfMonth  DaysInMonth
01/01/2020  01/01/2020    31
02/01/2020  01/01/2020    31
03/01/2020  01/01/2020    31
01/02/2020  01/02/2020    28
02/02/2020  01/02/2020    28

Join Contract.Month to Date.FirstOfMonth and you'll get an entry for each day in the calendar.