Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

nuldum
Frequent Visitor

Available time for each worker

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Power BI and DAX, and I've already learnt alot from this community - thank you!

I'm trying to create an overview of the time available for each worker in my department. The purpose of this is to quickly find a worker who has time for urgent cases.

I have a data set with Worker ID, Task ID, Deadline of the task, and days it takes to perform the task.
Furthermore I have calculated a temporary start and end date, and performed a check to see if any tasks overlap.

What I want to do is calculate an adjusted start and end date so the tasks don't overlap without exceeding the deadline.
I would also like to visualize this is in meaningful way so I can spot if a worker has available time for a urgent deadline.

I have calculated my columns as follows:

startDay:

startday = [endDay] - [Days]

endDay:

endDay = [deadline]

Overlap:

Overlap = 

var __worker = [Worker ID]

var __overlap = COUNTROWS(
    FILTER(ALL('data'); [Worker ID] = __worker && EARLIER(data[endDay]) > [startDay] && EARLIER('data'[endDay]) <= [endDay])
)-1

return
IF(
    __overlap=-1;
    0;
    __overlap
)

The data set is available here: https://1drv.ms/x/s!AlGwu4CgVOGIhYc-8wFK5o4uj3e_Eg?e=crjUfG

The pbix file is available here: https://1drv.ms/u/s!AlGwu4CgVOGIhYc9ip4krLoTuYolgg?e=GuTygg

Thank you in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @nuldum 

I have taken a look at your case, and I think it is doable. 

1. Open power query, and sort the table by Worker ID, Deadline, Task ID and Days, in that order. It should look like this(notice the small numbers next to the sort symbol):

sturlaws_0-1596544186709.png

2.  add an index column in power query, rename it to e.g. index, close and apply your changes