cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Regular Visitor

timeline slicer

I've been using Timeline Slicer for a few months, and it suddenly stopped working. I'm using Power BI Desktop (October 2017) to develop, matching our On Prem server version. When I publish, the viz displays, but I can no longer configure within Desktop. "Your version of Power BI Desktop does not support this custom visual. Please update Power BI Desktop to the latest version." I need to keep this version the same as my server, correct? Also - if this could include a setting to highlight through today's date, that would be helpful. Now, it only filters. I'd like to show YTD on the selector, but highlight MTD. And I can't do that.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Microsoft
Microsoft

Re: timeline slicer

Hello @leearls,

Please try to update your Report Server and Desktop app. Desktop app version (October 2017) doesn't support API 1.9.
Or the second option is to send e-mail to pbicvsupport@microsoft.com, we'll provide custom package of Timeline visual (downgraded to API 1.8).

Nikita Grachev,
Team Leader
Microsoft Power BI Custom Visuals,
pbicvsupport@microsoft.com

View solution in original post

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Community Champion
Community Champion

We'll look into Timeline issue with report server.

Please note highlighting is not feasible since Timeline Slicer works as a slicer.
Power BI doesn't allow to highlight and slice at the same time.

Ignat Vilesov,

Software Engineer

Microsoft Power BI Custom Visuals

Highlighted
Microsoft
Microsoft

Hello @leearls,

Please try to update your Report Server and Desktop app. Desktop app version (October 2017) doesn't support API 1.9.
Or the second option is to send e-mail to pbicvsupport@microsoft.com, we'll provide custom package of Timeline visual (downgraded to API 1.8).

Nikita Grachev,
Team Leader
Microsoft Power BI Custom Visuals,

View solution in original post

Helpful resources