Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mjohnsen
Frequent Visitor

blank custom visuals

Greetings,

I'm having some trouble with my custom rhtml visual. When i upload it to PowerBI and add in the data, it loads for a second, then turns out blank.

This is my first time constructing custom visuals, where i simply followed a guide on medium (Create Dynamic Custom Visual in Power BI using R, ggplot2 and plotly | by Shalabh Thakur | Medium).

output from pbiviz package (pbiviz file is compiled in dist folder), but I get a certificate warning (have installed the certificate, but this is not my strong side):

mjohnsen_0-1669900195435.png

pbiviz output:

mjohnsen_1-1669900307464.png

My procedure to construct a custom pbiviz:

--> go to designated folder

--> Run code: pbiviz new my_visual -t rhtml

--> Add info in pbiviz.json file

--> Alter script.r file (scriptis tested and works)

--> Run code: pbiviz package

--> Import .pbiviz from dist to Power BI

--> Add the column I want to be displayed

The R script looks like this: simple script made for testing. Should work for any numeric column

source('./r_files/flatten_HTML.r')

############### Library Declarations ###############
libraryRequireInstall("ggplot2");
libraryRequireInstall("plotly")
####################################################

################### Actual code ####################
names(Values) = "X"
g = ggplot(data = Values, mapping = aes(X)) + geom_histogram();

############# Create and save widget ###############
p = ggplotly(g);
internalSaveWidget(p, 'out.html');

################ Reduce paddings ###################
ReadFullFileReplaceString('out.html', 'out.html', ',"padding":[0-9]*,', ',"padding":0,')