Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

dbardele
Frequent Visitor

Custom Visual cut off after resizing in Power BI Service

Hello, I'm new to developing custom visuals but I have something (sort of) working after following tutorials and watching YouTube videos. However, I cannot get mine to resize bigger than a postage stamp, nor to do so in real time as I change the viewport. This also was a problem when I was resizing the tutorial "Update Counter"...my counter didn't count up at all even though I was following the tutorial exactly. I'm wondering if it's because I'm using a different version of pbiviz (3.1.1) than the tutorial was written in.

Here is the code that I think defines sizing (unfortunately I cannot attach screengrabs of the visual). However, I may be missing something in one of the other files. Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Dom

import "./../style/visual.less";

import powerbi from "powerbi-visuals-api";
import VisualConstructorOptions = powerbi.extensibility.visual.VisualConstructorOptions;
import VisualUpdateOptions = powerbi.extensibility.visual.VisualUpdateOptions;
import IVisual = powerbi.extensibility.visual.IVisual;

import * as d3 from "d3";

export class Visual implements IVisual {

private svgRoot: d3.Selection<SVGElement, {}, HTMLElement, any>;
private xAxis: d3.Selection<SVGElement, {}, HTMLElement, any>;
private yAxis: d3.Selection<SVGElement, {}, HTMLElement, any>;
private line: d3.Selection<SVGElement, {}, HTMLElement, any>;
private circle: d3.Selection<SVGElement, {}, HTMLElement, any>;
private padding: number = 20;

constructor(options: VisualConstructorOptions) {
console.log('Visual constructor', options);

this.svgRoot = d3.select(options.element)
.append("svg")
.append("g");

this.xAxis = this.svgRoot
.append("g")
.attr("class", "x axis")
.style("stroke", "black")