Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

chellamotte

Power Bi - guideline books

Hi all,

I am kind of new to Power BI. I have quite some experience with power pivot, and currently trying to master power query.

(you should know my background is a master's in law, management and applied economics).

My job is helping SME's in their growth etc.... by making budgets, valuations and whatnot.

I also like to learn a lot by myself.

Now I was wondering if there are some really good starter books to help me learn and understand power BI to create dashboards which will blow our customers off their socks without emptying their pockets (just as an extra, people don't want to see numbers, they want visual information).

I have checked out most videos for guided learning on the power bi website, and am now using "power query for power bi and excel". But more and more clients are using different software with different data sources (SAP, dynamics, salesforce).

I know there is so much information on the internet, but using books whilst using the software gives me much less distractions. ALso, my company reimburses me for every excel, microsoft, etc... course, book and whatnot.

A great example, we had a client with a gigantic store in all sorts of electronics. And we went step by step, in order to create a management information dashboard. 

I did all the legwork, had a complete setup in Excel which combined their daily sales from the past 4 years, combined with number of sales people in every department, the weather on that particular day and a lot of influential variables.

Then we went to a developer to create a dynamic dashboard coupled to the excel and their ERP system (for the daily sales). And the prices were outrageous.