Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MrFlox
Regular Visitor

How to calculate conditional cumulative figures

Hello everyone, 

I am relatively new to powerbi (not entirely new to programming itself) and have come upon a challenge. I need to recreate the below variable Z on BI. The whole difficulty lies in creating a cumulative figure (Y) that depends on whether the "X" went from zero to a non-zero. The explanation is simple:

Z is calculated as X - cumulative Y. However, if X went to 0 in the previous date, and now is at non-zero, then the cumulative process of Y starts again at this precise date. You can see it in the highlighted rows which signal the refresh of the cumulative process.

The Date Rank Variable is simply the ranking of the leftside dates (it alligns to the left always so it looks stuck to the dates, don't get confused).

DateDate RankXYZ = (X - cumulative Y) OR X-Y if refreshed
01/09/201813056-26
30/09/20182404-20
31/10/20183064-124
30/11/201841248
31/12/2018536626
31/01/201965764-17
28/02/2019786012
31/03/201980574-648
30/04/2019907-655
31/05/20191015-4
30/06/20191142-3
31/07/201912801
31/08/201913745-45
30/09/201914047-99
31/10/2019157652763
30/11/2019165677558
31/12/20191747434
31/01/20201880-5
29/02/2020194484-493
31/03/20202000-497
30/04/20202105-502
31/05/20202208-510
30/06/20202336-3
31/07/202024464-66
31/08/20202526-74
30/09/20202608-84

!!I have an extra complexity that I should have mentioned, the table above is for a single ID number. In reality there are multiple ID numbers in that data, thus the above calculations should work for each ID number separatelly. The ID number is like an extra column.

I have spent hours on it...can anyone help with the function needed to calculate Y?

Many thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-eqin-msft
Community Support